Ask an Author with Inspy Romance Novelist LoRee Peery

First choiceTell us about your publishing journey. How did it all play out?

I’ve been writing a long time. And I’ve quit writing a few times along the way. I wrote Moselle’s Insurance, my first published novella, in 2003. In 2005 I met an agent in a hallway at RWA Nat’l in Reno, and she asked for a partial, which she had for fourteen months.

I submitted to several agents during an eighteen-month period when I didn’t write a word of fiction. An agent I met at RWA in San Francisco in 2008 rejected Moselle’s story but said someone else would nab me up. Five more agents rejected it, but I believed I was close to acceptance. At that time only one traditional NY publisher accepted un-agented material, and they had rejected half my stories.

Online publishing hadn’t entered my mind until the writers group I attended invited an editor to their retreat in 2009. Lori Graham was the editor for White Rose Publishing (now an imprint of Pelican). She invited me to submit Moselle’s Insurance.

MosellesInsurance_w4262_300Moselle’s story was rejected twice by White Rose editors with the invitation to resubmit. I was devastated by the second detailed rejection letter and quit writing. At retreat in January of 2010, my fellow chapter members encouraged me to view that letter as the best kind of rejection.

I went through the editor’s comments, agreed with her, revised, and resubmitted. Moselle’s story was accepted in less than a week!

What a ride! I received my contract on my birthday in April. Since Moselle’s Insurance released in July, 2010, I’ve contracted nine books (three available in print) and contributed to a devotional and cookbook. I’m waiting to hear the status of a novelette submitted for Pelican Book Group’s Christmas Extravaganza.

How does your geographic location inform your work?

I’m a Nebraska country girl through and through. We are hard-working citizens, more honest than not, and those who stay in the state love our land and its people.

For me personally, my mind often returns to the farm where I grew up—though it is nothing but a cornfield now. I learned how to connect with nature as I did chores and knew what was expected of me as a child. The responsible work ethic has come in handy over the years as I’ve faced diverse circumstances concerning family, on the job, and volunteering.

As per contemporary books, I have found few authors who set their stories in Nebraska, so I hope readers are introduced to my roots.

WhereHeartsMeet_w11796_300What are you working on now?

As mentioned, I’m waiting on the Christmas novelette status, which will require edits and promotion. A time travel cowboy story is in my revision pile, and I’ve begun the sequel.

I’m embarking on the adventure of self-publishing the story of my heart. Due to tech deficiencies, I have sought the expertise of others. Touches of Time is women’s fiction and a fictionalized account of my father’s unsolved homicide. Tagline: Sarah Bishop’s cold case quest delivers more than answers when she meets investigator Ford Melcher.

What advice would you give other authors?

Since I’m a Christian writer, I say pray before you do any writing. (I mess up when I dive in without seeking the Lord’s guidance.)

Always keep your minds open to learning.

Embrace the struggles when they come.

Follow your heart’s desire, be it writing or taking time to care for your family, your home, and yourself.

Though writers are more introvert than extrovert (and if you’re like me can stay home for a week at a time), it’s a mistake to isolate yourself. Take time for friends, church activities, and writers’ events.

Christian romance author LoRee Peery writes to feel alive, to contribute to society, and to pass forward the hope of rescue from sin. She writes of redeeming grace with a sense of place. She is who she is by the grace of God: Christian, country girl, wife, mother, grandmother, sister, friend, and author.

She’s been a reader since before kindergarten. One day she slapped a story in her lap. “I could write better than this.” (Lofty assumption, eh?) Her dear hubby challenged, “Why don’t you?” Thus her writing journey began many moons ago. Since then she has authored the Frivolities Series and other e-books. Connect with LoRee through these links

www.loreepeery.com

https://twitter.com/LoreePeery

https://www.facebook.com/LoReePeery

